Thursday, December 01, 2005, 12/01/2005 09:24:00 AM

The History of the UTSA and 1985 Amendments

By Todd
The Uniform Trade Secrets Act (UTSA) represents the conceptual foundation for the legal treatment of trade secrets in most states in the United States. Currently, forty-five states (including the District of Columbia) have enacted statutes modeled after the UTSA. Two states (Alabama and Massachussetts) have their own statutes protecting trade secrets. Four states (New York, New Jersey, Texas and Wyoming) still rely upon the common law's principles for trade secret recognition and protection.

If you're interested in the history of the UTSA and its 1985 Amendments, click here. You might find the red-lined version of the Act as interesting as we did - it certainly demonstrates the pushes and pulls made to get the text approved.


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home

back to top